Competence Centers for Specialist Training

Networking Office for Specialist Training in General Practice
Lydia Roßkamp
Institut für Allgemeinmedizin, Universität zu Lübeck
Phone: 0049-451–3101 8002

Competence Centers for specialist training help structure specialist education in general practice by organizing accompanying seminars, a mentoring program and individual counselling services during the training period. At the same time, train-the-trainer seminars are provided to teachers. By raising quality standards, the overriding aim is to encourage more students to choose to specialize in general practice. The competence centers are generally affiliated with local University Institutes of General Practice. A position paper defining the criteria for competence centers for specialist training in general practice can be found on the DEGAM home page.

Promoting Specialist Training

To implement legal regulations, the National Association of Statutory Health Insurance Physicians (KBV), the German Hospital Association and the German Federal Association of Health Insurance Funds reached an agreement to promote specialist training. This agreement was coordinated with and approved by the German Medical Association and the Association of Private Health Insurers. Subsequently, it was officially possible to support the competence centers for specialist training at the beginning of July 2017 for the first time.

As pointed out by the KBV, the training programs of the competence centers for specialist training have been available virtually throughout Germany since the beginning of 2018.
The Centers provide programs aimed at improving specialist training nationwide. The programs include accompanying seminars and mentoring programs for doctors in specialist training, as well as train-the-trainer courses for teachers. In recent months, such centers have been established on the basis of Paragraph 75a of the German Social Insurance Code (SGB V) by 13 regional associations of statutory health insurance physicians (KV) in Baden-Wuerttemberg, Bavaria, Berlin, Hamburg, Hesse, Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania, Lower Saxony, North Rhine Westphalia, Rhineland-Palatinate, Saxony, Saxony-Anhalt, Schleswig-Holstein, Thuringia and Westphalia-Lippe. Two further centers are managed by coordinating offices of regional KVs, and the remaining centers are affiliated with university institutes of general practice.